Christmas Hosting Tips & Menu Ideas - Farm Girl Fresh

FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $75.

Christmas Hosting Tips & Menu Ideas

It’s time to plan my Christmas menu! We usually have family staying several days and host more than one holiday gathering. So planning ahead helps me feel more prepared and relaxed to enjoy our family time together.

Here is a list of things I think about before hosting, along with some recipe options. (click on link for the recipe)

Hosting Checklist

1 – 2 weeks before:

  • Confirm number of people attending
  • Plan menu (delegate side dishes to other guests, if possible)
  • Read recipes, make shopping list
  • Plan decorations, center pieces, name cards and serving dishes
  • Prepare food that can be made ahead of time and frozen

Day before:

  • Finish food shopping
  • Chop veggies and store in covered bowls
  • Set the table
  • Take out frozen pre-made dishes to thaw

Day of the gathering:

  • Prepare or reheat food dishes
  • Arrange food on buffet or table
  • Enjoy the day with your guests

 

Menu Ideas

Appetizers

Veggie Pizza https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/veggie-pizza/
Barbecue Meatballs https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/barbecue-appetizer-meatballs/
Easy Appetizer Mushrooms https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/easy-appetizer-mushrooms/

Beverage

Mocha Coffee Creamer https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/mocha-coffee-creamer/

Orange Cider https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/orange-cider/

Main Dish

Ham Balls https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/ham-balls/
Baked Ham and Pineapple https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/baked-ham-and-pineapple/
Cherry Glazed Pork Roast https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/cherry-glazed-pork-roast/

Sides

Cheesy Potatoes (page 184 of Eating Pure in a Processed Foods World®) https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/cheesy-potatoes/
Creamy Butternut Stuffed Potatoes https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/creamy-butternut-stuffed-potatoes/
Roasted Potato and Asparagus Medley https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/roasted-potato-asparagus-medley/
Cheesy Spinach, Quinoa and Potato Bake https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/cheesy-spinach-quinoa-and-potato-bake/
Sweet ‘N Spicy Asparagus and Broccoli https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/sweet-n-spicy-asparagus-broccoli/
Sweet Potato Casserole https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/sweet-potato-casserole/

Salads

Apple Spinach Salad (page 33) https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/apple-spinach-salad/
Spinach Salad (page 222) https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/spinach-salad-and-steak/
Italian Salad https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/italian-salad/
Three Bean Salad https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/three-bean-salad/

Desserts

Mini Pecan Pies https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/mini-pecan-pies/

Chocolate Pudding Pie https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/chocolate-pudding-pie/

Ice Cream Cake https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/ice-cream-cake/
Cranberry Cake https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/cranberry-cake/
Gluten-Free Gingerbread https://www.farmgirlfresh.com/gluten-free-gingerbread/